California Time and Labor: California Time and Labor for Managers
interactive

California Time and Labor: California Time and Labor for Managers

ej4
Updated Jun 20, 2024

What you'll learn

  • The federal standard for overtime pay in many states is established by the Fair Labor Standards Act, or FLSA. It says that nonexempt employees should be paid overtime after working 40 hours in a week. However, California is a little different.
  • Learn the differences between exempt and nonexempt employees, some exceptions to the rule, and some tips to ensure you’re paying your employees properly.
Course Description

The federal standard for overtime pay in many states is established by the Fair Labor Standards Act, or FLSA. It says that nonexempt employees should be paid overtime after working 40 hours in a week. However, California is a little different. The state of California has overtime provisions that require all nonexempt employees, which includes domestic workers, to receive overtime pay at a rate one and a half times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours per day and 40 hours per week. In this course, we’ll discuss the differences between exempt and nonexempt employees. We’ll cover some exceptions to the rule, and we’ll go over some tips to ensure you’re paying your employees properly.