5 Stages of Appreciative Inquiry

5 Stages of Appreciative Inquiry

Seven Dimensions
Updated Jul 25, 2024

What you'll learn

  • Appreciative inquiry is a five stage process:
  • Define (what is to be achieved)
  • Discover (what is already done well)
  • Dream (how we can be at our best?)
  • Design (the steps to realize the dream)
  • Destiny (the energy and commitment that powers the eventual solution)
Course Description

While fixing problems is normal, it leaves things in their functioning state. Appreciative Inquiry helps transform the issue into empowering outcomes.

Appreciative inquiry comprises David Cooperrider’s research and a 5-stage process, described here by Kylie Bell. Kylie Bells outlines the process to Eve Ash, beginning with Defining (setting out what you want to achieve), followed by Discover (having an appreciation of what already is done well), Dream (dreaming about the ideal situation, of being at our best), Design (how we will make our dream a reality and the steps needed) and Destiny (the element that inspires the drive to get going).

This program is one of the Insights and Strategies Series, featuring psychologist Eve Ash interviewing a range of experts and business leaders who share their experiences and practical strategies for achieving best practice.

Click here to get the Transcript. 

Business Outcomes

This program will provide viewers with skills and strategies about researching and problem solving.